Challah for Parshah Noah!

I had a couple of ideas for this week’s challah.  First I thought I’d try a flavor.  Although “pumpkin spice” everything is in this time of year, you won’t see me on the pumpkin train.  I hear that Smitten Kitchen has a great apple challah recipe.  I may have to try it in November. I also am a huge fan of this week’s Torah portion, Noah.  What’s not to love about animals and a dove showing land, a rainbow and a promise?  I looked for images of doves to make into challah and only found sitting birds, not birds in flight.  And Noah really needs a dove in flight.  So I went for the next obvious symbol for this portion, the rainbow. I divided the dough into 6 parts. Then I took each portion of dough, and added some food color to it and worked it in.

image

 

Here’s the second rise:

image

 

And all the dough laid out to braid:

image

Then I did a basic 6 braid: (I made some small challot for my house-mate who is traveling this shabbat!)

image

The colors were amazing!!

image

It baked up, maintaining most of the brightness!

image

And the color goes right through the dough!!

image

One thing that I noticed about this challah, is that working the color into the dough makes it a bit over worked. I may have to experiment with other ways to color the dough, that keeps the challah fluffy.  It still tastes good (I tried the cut loaf) but is denser than what I usually make.

3 thoughts on “Challah for Parshah Noah!

Leave a Reply

