Water Challah

This week we read the Torah portion Chayei Sarah, which includes the story of Rebekah at the well. In honor of my namesake and her generosity with water, I thought I’d make a water challah.

image

Water challah is a German tradition and, unlike the challah I usually make, uses no eggs. This means the challah can be vegan (many of the recipies I found called for egg wash on the outside, which seemed to defeat the purpose to me).

Another good reason for vegan challah this week is these gals:

IMG_0410

They live in my backyard and provide the eggs for my family. As the days get shorter, they are providing fewer and fewer, so saving a few eggs, my typical challah takes three, is a good thing.

I used a recipie my housemate had recommended. It ended up delicious! It was not as shiny as the ones with an egg wash (I just used oil) and not as rich. But I feared it would be dry, and it wasn’t at all. I would absolutely use this recipe again if I wanted to make a vegan challah.

image

 

Here is the recipe:

4 cups flour

1t salt1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup oil

2t yeast (I use rapid rise)

1 1/2 cups water

Mix, as one does for bread, let rise, braid in two loaves, bake at 350 for about 30 min.

Leave a Reply

