The Basic Recipie

Some folks have asked me for my basic challah recipe.  Most of loaves I make follow this recipe.  I think I got it from my friend Karen, but I can’t honestly remember. I tried a few when I first started making challah, and this one ended up being the best for me.  I “cheat” and use the bread machine to make the dough, then I just have to braid it and bake it.  When you are making challah every week this is a really useful “cheat”, and I obtained the machine because it was hard to find certified kosher, tasty and inexpensive challah in Seattle. So here’s the basics:

1 cup water

1 tablespoon honey

1/2 cup oil (canola)

2 eggs

1/2 cup sugar

1 teaspoon salt

4 1/2 cups flour

2 1/4 teaspoons rapid rise yeast

Put wet ingredients in machine. Then dry. Put on “basic dough” function and wait.  If you don’t have a machine the same ingredients could be used to make dough with a mixer or by hand, just proof the yeast, combine the dry and mix with the wet. It’s easy!

Leave a Reply

