Orange Caraway Challah

A few weeks ago the New York Times published a challah recipe. Many of my friends, who know I’m doing this blog, sent me a link to the recipe.  So I decided to try it.  The recipe is a fairly standard challah, with the addition of orange juice and zest and with Fennel seeds on top. I was making this on December 25th, which is not a great day to need to run to the grocery. So when I realized I didn’t have fennel, I looked for a good substitute in the cabinet.  The interwebs suggested that caraway seed can be used instead, with only a mild difference in flavor.  The results were spectacular.

photo 1 (2)

The orange flavor was mild and the spicy seeds on top gave great contrast.  I will say, however, that this doesn’t feel like “challah” to me.  I like it when we have a cheese and spreads course at the beginning of our shabbat dinner.  I’m not sure this challah will go well with some of our typical spreads, for example hummus. It does, however, go delightfully with goat cheese. Ultimately, I think I like blander challot to use for Shabbat.  But this was a successful loaf!

Leave a Reply

