Valentines Challah

What would be a better challah for Shabbat that is erev Valentines day than my own heart challah?  I have made this before for a sheva bracha for a newly married couple.  It is based on a child craft that looks like this:

I basically did the same thing with dough.  I started with two oblong balls of dough:

image

Then I cut slits to make four straps to weave with:

image

Placing the two dough balls at a 90 degree angle to one another, I wove their straps in a four by four grid.

image

Then I futzed with it a bit to get a better shape and baked it.

image

You can still see the heart shape in the final product, but the point isn’t as sharp as I would have liked. Next time I’ll bake it in the corner of the pan like I did with the grapes.  It will give it a much better shape.

Leave a Reply

