Shlissel Challah

It’s been a while since I posted.  Passover happened, so I didn’t make challah for two weeks. But I’m back!

There is a tradition that, for the Shabbat after Passover to make a challah with a key in it or key shaped. I’ve seen lots of explanations for this tradition, relating it to the key to heaven or to a humbleness of our understanding that our needs were provided for in the desert.  I’ve also seen two versions, one with a key inside and one with a key shape.  Since I needed two loaves for Shabbat, I made both!

first the key shaped one:

image

First I cleaned the key with soap and water then with alcohol.  Then I put it on a braid

image

and covered it with a bit of dough.

image

The end result had a hidden surprise!

image

Leave a Reply

