Caramelized Onion Challah

I didn’t have a good theme for this week, and was getting a little tired of shapes, so decided it was time to adventure into flavors again.  I googled “challah flavor” and found a few good recipes (others coming in future weeks– like rosemary garlic challah!!)  One that I found was a caramelized onion challah.  Ummm….yes please!

The first step is to caramelize the onions. I’d never done this before but the recipe indicated and the inter-webs confirmed that this was a long process.  I often make my challah on Friday mornings (get up, braid, put in oven, shower, take out of oven, leave for work) and an hour to caramelize wasn’t going to fit that schedule.  So I did the onions on Thursday night.  I used one whole onion. My partner said it looked like too much when he peeked in and I was only moments into caramelizing.  Boy did those suckers cook down.

image

I cooked them in our cast iron skillet on medium-low (about 3-4) for an hour.  When they were done, they were beautiful!

image

The next morning I made my typically challah recipe and rolled each “snake” in onions before I braided it.

image

Any that fell off I just shoved into the cracks between braids.

The finished product was beautiful!

image

And delicious, if I do say so myself.  I seriously think this one was better than the ginger one in February, but I like onions better than I like ginger!

image

Leave a Reply

