Chimichurri Challah

My friend Michael sent me this recipe to try out. I don’t have access to ramps here in Seattle, as I understand they are best when foraged.  So I googled for substitutes and found a suggestion of green onions.  I made my basic dough, instead of using theirs, then used the food processor to make the filling:

  • 1 bunch of green onions
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp Balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp lemon zest
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

I rolled out the dough and spread on the filling:

image

Then rolled it into a tube. I quickly realized that it wasn’t going to stay closed for me to braid. So I coiled it into a beautiful round.

image

It was delicious and eaten quickly!!

image

I had some of the filling left over, and my spouse ate it on tortilla chips the next day, then asked me to make more for the next shabbat.

One thought on “Chimichurri Challah

Leave a Reply

