Playing with Stripes

Last week I made the 4th of July challah.

image

It’s all right, but a bit messy.  I would like to get better at stripes.  So I decided to refine the technique.

Last week I had used small bowls to dye the stripes.  They were messy and awkward.  So this week I sued plates with the dye.

image

And let the stripes dry a bit once dyed.

image

image

Then, wiping my hands between stripes, I placed them in the baking dish.

image

This design is inspired by my love of open water swimming.

The final product ended up a lot cleaner looking:

image

So clearly this technique is a step in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

