Pesto and Cheese Challah

My friend Kate sent me this recipe. It looked amazing.  So I put it in the queue.
I didn’t have everything on hand that I needed, but I made some easy substitutions.  For the Pesto I used Scallions instead of Garlic Scapes, and it came out much like the filling in an earlier challah I did. But it was still good:

image

The food processor makes this one possible. Then I used goat cheese for the cheese, as we only use kosher cheese, and there just aren’t that many around.

image

Luckily we had this one in the fridge from a recent trip to either Costco.

The final product looked great:

image

Even after it was baked:

image

I ended up bringing it to my parent’s house for a shabbat dinner where mom and dad had made pizza. It was the perfect combination for a pizza dinner!  (Don’t worry, there was a plain, non-dairy one for us to make motzi on).

Leave a Reply

